

Asotin County Democrats Executive Board Meeting Minutes

May 15, 2024, 7 p.m.

Held on Zoom

Meeting was called to finalize committee endorsements for candidates who had requested such endorsements. Present were chair Becky Eklund, treasurer Roger Jones and secretary Lorraine Nelson.

The group discussed the endorsements that were recommended the previous evening by the members who remained after the candidate presentations. All the recommendations were adopted except one, and that was in the congressional district race. There were two candidates considered at the membership meeting the previous meeting, and two of the executive board members had voted with the majority then to endorse the candidate that won the majority vote. However, after much discussion about the two candidates, including which of the two would be most likely to prevail against a Republican challenger, the three executive board members voted unanimously to endorse Carmela Conroy.

Endorsements finalized at that special meeting the following night of the executive committee, consisting of the chair, treasurer, and secretary, were: Bob Ferguson for governor; Nick Brown for attorney general; Carmela Conroy for 5th Congressional District; Chris Reykdal for superintendent of public instruction; Dave Upthegrove for commissioner of public lands; Mike Pellicciotti for state treasurer; and the group voted not to endorse candidates for supreme court judge because it is supposed to be nonpartisan.

It was noted at the executive board meeting that the Endorsements and Approval section of the bylaws adopted by Asotin County Democrats on April 2 gave the executive board final endorsement responsibility by saying candidates seeking office needed "Endorsement and full support by the Executive Committee".

The chair directed the secretary to respond to two of the candidates who had requested endorsements and said she would respond to the others. It was agreed this would happen as soon as possible.

Minutes submitted by Lorraine Nelson, Secretary Asotin County Democrats